Magical Music on Sept. 8

Elaine Silver gives first performance at DDUUC

Our first formal Sunday service of the 2019-2020 church year will be led by Elaine Silver on Sept. 8. She will present a program called, “The Spirituality of the Beatles.” Here is a taste of her work to whet everyone’s appetites. Our tradition of Water Communion will be woven into the program.

Summer at DDUUC

The final DDUUC service of the formal program year was held on Sunday, June 30, but that does not mean our community goes dormant until Labor Day. Instead, we go informal. Scroll down and we’ll tell you what that means.

Sunday, July 7 — No church meeting.

Sunday, July 14 — Joan Spengler kicked off our series of informal discussion services with the question, “What’s wrong with Unitarian Universalism,” sparking some lively debate. Members who would like to lead one of these, should Joan, chairwoman of our Sunday Service Committee, with a topic. We light the chalice, pass the collection plate and share our thoughts on the topic for an hour. No refreshments are provided, but participants are invited to bring their own. Contact Joan at Captain.Joan@hotmail.com.

Sunday, July 21 — Roger Long will lead a discussion: The Joys of Volunteering. Roger volunteers with the A-Team artist group at the Trenton Area Soup Kitchen and at Grounds for Sculpture.

Sunday, July 28 — Chris Sturgis will ask about the phenomenon of labeling various public figures as narcissists or even malignant narcissists . Is this behavior pattern on the rise?

Sunday, Aug. 4 — No church meeting.

Sunday, Aug. 11 — Discussion meeting. New topic.

Sunday, Aug. 18 — Discussion meeting. New topic.

Sunday, Aug. 25 — John DeMasi will lead. He is active in the Humanist Forum.

Sunday, Sept. 1 — No church meeting.

Sunday, Sept. 8 — FIrst formal church service of 2019-20 Year.